This Is Who the Kingdom of God Starts With • Sermon on the Mount (Episode 2)

Welcome to the second episode of our Sermon on the Mount series, where we delve deeper into the transformative teachings of Jesus. In this post, we explore the profound truth behind the statement, “This Is Who the Kingdom of God Starts With.” Join us as we uncover the key individuals who play a crucial role in the kingdom’s inception, and discover how their actions can inspire and guide us on our spiritual journey. Embark on this transformative adventure with us as we unravel the mysteries of the Kingdom of God.

This Is Who the Kingdom of God Starts With • Sermon on the Mount (Episode 2)


In this second episode of the “Sermon on the Mount” series, we delve deeper into understanding who the Kingdom of God starts with. Jesus, the central figure of the sermon, reveals profound insights and teachings that continue to resonate with believers and non-believers alike. Let’s take a closer look at the key principles shared in this episode and discover the transformative power of the Kingdom of God.

The Beatitudes: Embracing the Kingdom

At the core of Jesus’ teachings is the concept of the Beatitudes. These eight blessings, often regarded as the gateway to the Kingdom of God, offer a radical shift in perspective. Contrary to societal norms, Jesus highlights the importance of humility, mercy, righteousness, and pureness of heart. By embodying these virtues, one can experience the true essence of the Kingdom.

The Poor in Spirit: Recognizing Our Need for God

The first Beatitude challenges us to acknowledge our spiritual poverty. Jesus stresses that those who recognize their desperate need for God are truly blessed. This recognition opens the door to a life transformed by the abundant grace of God. It invites us to surrender our self-reliance and humbly seek a deeper relationship with our Heavenly Father.

Those Who Mourn: Finding Comfort in God’s Presence

The second Beatitude reminds us that mourning is an inevitable part of the human experience. Whether it be the loss of a loved one, a broken relationship, or a personal failure, grief can profoundly impact our lives. However, Jesus offers solace in His promise of comfort. As we lean on Him, we discover that God’s presence brings healing and restoration, allowing us to embrace joy amidst sorrow.

The Meek: Strength in Humility

Contrary to the worldly notion of power, the third Beatitude highlights the importance of meekness. Meekness is not weakness, but rather a strength found in humility. It involves surrendering our ego, pride, and entitlement before God. By embracing meekness, we not only gain a greater understanding of ourselves but also foster genuine relationships with others. Moreover, Jesus assures us that the meek shall inherit the earth, emphasizing the eternal significance of this virtue.

Hunger and Thirst for Righteousness: Seeking God’s Will

The fourth Beatitude invites us to develop a hunger and thirst for righteousness. It urges us to prioritize God’s will above our own desires and ambitions. This pursuit leads to a transformation of the heart, aligning our actions with God’s purposes. As we actively seek righteousness, we become instruments of change in a broken world, promoting justice, compassion, and love.

The Merciful: Extravagant Grace in Action

The fifth Beatitude calls us to demonstrate mercy to others, just as God has shown mercy to us. Mercy extends beyond mere sympathy; it is characterized by forgiveness, compassion, and kindness. Embracing a merciful attitude allows us to break free from the chains of resentment and bitterness. By extending grace to those who have wronged us, we experience the freedom and joy that comes from forgiving others.

Pure in Heart: Living Authentically

In the sixth Beatitude, Jesus challenges us to cultivate a pure heart. A pure heart is one that is undivided in its devotion to God, free from impure intentions and deceitful desires. It requires us to live authentically and strive for righteousness in all aspects of life. By purifying our hearts, we create a space for God’s transformative work and become vessels for His love and truth.

Peacemakers: Agents of Reconciliation

The seventh Beatitude calls us to be peacemakers, actively working towards reconciliation in a world marred by conflict and division. Peacemaking involves promoting harmony, understanding, and forgiveness. By seeking reconciliation, we reflect the heart of God and become catalysts for transforming broken relationships and communities.

The Persecuted: Blessed in the Midst of Trials

In the final Beatitude, Jesus assures us that those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake are blessed. While persecution may seem daunting and unjust, it is an inevitable consequence of standing for what is right. The Kingdom of God beckons us to remain steadfast in our faith, even in the face of opposition. The promise of God’s presence and eternal reward offers comfort and strength amidst trials.


As we delve into the second episode of the “Sermon on the Mount,” we uncover the foundational principles that underpin the Kingdom of God. Jesus’ teachings challenge societal norms and invite us to embrace humility, mercy, righteousness, and authenticity. The Beatitudes serve as a guidepost for all who seek to experience the transformative power of God’s Kingdom. May we align our lives with these principles and become vessels of love, light, and reconciliation in a world that desperately needs it.

Leave a Comment